HarperCollins Speakers Bureau
HARPERCOLLINS SPEAKERS BUREAU
THE PREMIER LECTURE AGENCY FOR AUTHORS

Anna David

Sex, Dating, Relationship, and Recovery Expert

SPEAKING TOPICS

  • Surviving and Thriving in an Addictive Society
  • Revolutionize How Students Think About Drinking
  • Getting Out of Your Own Way: How I Transformed from an Unemployed Addict Who Believed the World Was Against Me into Someone with a Life Bigger Than I Possibly Could Have Dreamed
  • Falling For You: Reexamine Your Life to Find Peace and Even Love

TRAVELS FROM

California

"Great show and rapport with the students. Anna left them thinking and talking about items for the future." - Zeak Naifeh, Director of Student Activities, Cameron University

Sober over a decade, Anna David is the author of four books (Party GirlBought,Reality Matters, and Falling for Me, all published by HarperCollins) as well as a television personality (she was the sex, dating, and relationship expert on G4'sAttack of the Show for over three years and has appeared repeatedly on NBC'sToday ShowThe CBS Morning Show, CNN's Showbiz Tonight, and Hannity and Red Eye on Fox News, among many others). Her writing has been published in The New York TimesPlayboyCosmopolitanDetailsRedbookMaxim, and many more. Axe Body Spray, Date.com, and Guthy-Renker are among the companies that have hired her for spokesperson jobs. She also speaks on college campuses to revolutionize how students think about drinking. David doesn't advocate abstinency - she lives in the real world, after all - but instead illustrates ways that students can make wiser choices than she did. David is currently the Executive Editor of the thefix.com, a website dedicated to addiction and recovery.

Based on her own experiences with addiction and recovery, her first novel Party Girl(Harper) follows a hard-partying celebrity journalist who leads a double life - with hilarious and poignant results. Party Girl was called "laugh-out loud hysterical and Capote elegant" by Permanent Midnight author Jerry Stahl, while Dr. Drew Pinsky decreed it "the most accurate portrayal of the experience of addiction and nuances of recovery I've come across." The book has been translated into Russian and Italian and Sony Television has purchased the film rights. David followed up Party Girl withBought (Harper Paperbacks), a fictionalized account of an investigative feature she did for Details magazine about high-class prostitution. She conceived of and editedReality Matters (It Books), an anthology of hysterical yet revealing essays from novelists, essayists, and journalists about reality television shows, and is currently writing What I Say I Want (Harper Paperbacks), a memoir in which she explores whether or not she's ready to move to the next stage in life.

Her most recent book Falling For Me: How I Hung Curtains, Learned to Cook, Traveled to Seville, and Fell in Love (Harper Paperbacks) is a memoir where David explores if at the age of 35, she has made all the right choices in life. When she stumbles upon a copy of Sex & the Single Girl by Helen Gurley Brown (Cosmo's fearless leader of the 1960s), David connects with Gurley Brown's unique message combining self-empowerment and undeniable femininity. Using Sex & the Single Girlas a lesson plan, she embarks on a gutsy journey to reexamine her life, opening herself up to the people and places, the fears and vulnerabilities that have haunted her for years, in the hope that she will find peace and maybe even someone to share it with. With a fierce sense of ambition and determination, Anna shifts her focus to love and marriage, finally giving herself permission to overcome her fears and embrace the idea of falling in love - or, more importantly, to see if it's something she even wants.

A writer for Details and Maxim, David has been on staff at Premiere and Parenting, a fulltime freelancer for People, a contracted reporter for Us Weekly, and the sex and relationship columnist for Razor. She's done investigative pieces on crystal meth use among film executives and high-class prostitution in Hollywood that prompted Liz Smith to praise her for "carving out a niche uncovering the seedy side of deluxe living."

One of David's first-person sex stories for Playboy was made into the reality show pilot Better Luck Next Town for TBS and she's been written about by Liz Smith, Page Six, and The Marin Independent Journal as well as repeatedly quoted in magazines like Men's HealthLife & Style, and Glamour.

Praise for Falling for Me:

"A thoughtful chronicle with inspiring lessons in personal growth and building a life one loves from the inside out."

-- Publishers Weekly

"Funny, smart and compulsively likeable, Anna David is this decade's answer to Carrie Bradshaw. There won't be a single second you won't root for her as she bravely tries to answer the resonating question: how can I be my best self? I loved every moment of her discovery."

-- Allison Winn Scotch, author of Time of My Life and The Department of Lost And Found

Praise for Party Girl:

"Imagine Bridget Jones with a byline, bigger IQ, and substance abuse issues, and you've entered Party Girl territory. Anna David writes with a new strain of relentless, self-deprecating genius that re-casts the worn-down hooves of Prada-wearing demons with spanking new kicks . . . Party Girl is the kind of book that's impossible to read without stopping to repeat great lines to total strangers, who will then try and follow you home. The writing is at once laugh-out-loud hysterical and Capote elegant . . . Every generation deserves an epic worthy of its own glam self-destruction and redemption. This time, Party Girl earns the crown. It's a fantastic, beautifully written, and authentic slice of a life that looked shiny on the outside. By the end, the reader is just praying Ms. David will get back in her chair and write After-Party."

-- Jerry Stahl, best-selling author of Permanent Midnight and I, Fatty

"Anna David has provided us with the real deal -- a rollercoaster read that transports us in to the world of the Party Girl. Once emblematic for feminine machismo and independence, the party girl of today is in fact a human being with an illness. At once uproarious and poignant, Anna David's portrayal of the experience of addiction and nuances of recovery is the most accurate I have come across."

-- Dr. Drew Pinsky, addiction expert and host of Loveline

"I love this book! Party Girl is a smart, hilarious, and sometimes poignant page-turner that takes you past the velvet ropes and into the rabbit hole of the Hollywood party scene. David addresses addiction, recovery, and modern love in such a funny, honest, caustic and no-holds-barred way. You feel like you've lived it (and in the case of David's delightfully flawed and redeemed heorine) survived it."

-- Cindy Chupack, writer/executive producer for Sex and the City and author of The Between Boyfriends Book

"An inspirational story -- a triumph over the red carpet, instant intimacy with celebs and an open bar."

-- Liz Smith, The New York Post

"Simultaneously channeling Charles Bukowski and Anaïs Nin, Anna David takes on a harrowing joy-ride through the often joyless Hollywood Hills of self-destruction and redemption. Party Girl is at once fresh, heartbreaking, and downright sexy. To watch Amelia Stone struggle to transcend the booze and booty-calls that define her sense of self is to ride shot-gun with a truly authentic voice that makes Sex and the City look like Disneyland."

-- Ian Kerner, New York Times best-selling author of She Comes First and Be Honest -- You're Not That Into Him, Either

"You'll screech in amazed delight at every page of Anna David's Party Girl. If you've ever stared at photos of Hollywood nightclubs and wondered, what do the Hollywood gliteratti really talk about and do when the cameras are off? Anna David has the travel guide for you. A hilarious tale of a madcap self-destructing screwball heroine -- Irene Dunne with a Sidekick and a Prada bag full of cocaine -- careening through the glamorous palaces of Tinseltown. A Less Than Zero for the Paris Hilton age."

-- Richard Rushfield, author of On Spec: A Novel of Young Hollywood

"Let the prose paparazzo's flashbulbs explode on this stunning debut. Fiercely sexy, bracingly frank. In Party Girl, Anna David quite simply gives us back our soul in this played-out Paris Hilton era. Reality fiction never had it so good. This girl's the real thing."

-- Rachel Resnick, LA Times best-selling author of Go West, Young F*cked up Chick

"A steamy roman a clef from one of America's popular novelists."

-- Page Six, New York Post

"The patter is bubbly and witty."

-- Publishers Weekly

"Fans of Candace Bushnell and Jane Green will lap up David's debut novel."

-- Booklist

"Perfect for gossip-hungry readers."

-- Cosmopolitan

"David's debut novel combines a candid picture of addiction and recovery with scandalously funny, only-in-LA adventures."

-- Redbook

Praise for Bought:

"Trying to pick sides is all part of the fun, as is asking yourself: What would you do to get what you want?... I practically devoured this."

-- Nerve.com

"The book may be fiction but the world it exposes is real - and, recession be damned - thriving."

-- New York Post

"David presents a glitzy, glamorous, gossipy novel."

-- Booklist

"A moralizing tale of self-discovery...David sets up interesting parallels between selling your soul and selling your body."

-- Publishers Weekly

Praise for Reality Matters

"A brilliant compilation."

-- Starpulse

"Durable writing about reality television, is such a thing possible?...[Reality Matters] may answer that question. It contains considered essays on 'Project Runway,' 'Dog Whisperer,' 'Survivor,' and 'Jersey Shore'....[and] useful analysis of the fakery/reality issues inherent in television that purports to be, though rarely is, entirely true. "

-- The New Yorker

"Fun, funny, and surprising."

-- Penthouse

"If there's anything more entertaining than experiencing the guilty pleasure of reality TV firsthand, it's reading a bunch of brilliant people trying to rationalize their obsession with the genre."

-- Flavorpill